Welcome to the Birmingham History Center

Magic Moments
Parnell Visits Birmingham
Charles Stewart Parnell, the Irish Nationalist leader, visited Birmingham in 1872
Charles Stewart Parnell (1846-1891) is often considered to be, along with Benjamin Disreali and William Gladstone, one of the thre...
View Magic Moment Archives

Alabama Heritage, Number 116, Spring 2015
Check out the latest edition of Alabama Heritage magazine for a great article about the Birmingham H...Read More...
Can You Repeat That? for the holidays
Thanks to Brighthouse, our popular summer quiz show, Can You Repeat That? has been captured on video...Read More...
View Archives
Donate TO BHC
James Bennett 1940 - 2016

We are saddened by the passing of our friend and former board member of the Birmingham History Center, James Bennett.  Jim had a long and distinguished career as a newspaper reporter, public servant and historian.  He authored several books about the area's history, including two landmark works "Tannehill and the Growth of the Alabama Iron Industry" and "Historic Birmingham and Jefferson County."  The proceeds from the later work were donated to the History Center to further its programs and assist in the acquisition of historic artifacts.

The latest from 310 Pythian Place

William Paul Pim

​Birimingham Cartoonist, Illustrator

William Paul Pim (1885-1950) was a newspaper cartoonist and illustrator famous for his "Baby Mine" syndicated cartoon series and his "Telling Tommy" children's books.  He lived and worked in Birmingham for 35 years.  The History Center has recently received a collection of his work.

Click here for his story 

1940s Tax Assessor Photographs
A donor recently brought in eighty-six tax assessor ph0tographs from the 1940s. The photos show buildings and billboards in the Birmingham area.  The tax assessor often installed a stand with the building's tax number in front of the building before taking the photograph.  The photo would then be attached to a file.

The photos are 4.25" x 2.5" inches and were probably taken using a Kodak Six-16 camera.   616 film was originally produced by Kodak in 1932.  It used the same format as that of 116 film but on a slimmer spool, for use in more compact cameras. The format was used in many other cameras such as the Kodak Brownie Junior and the Kodak Target SIX-16. The first "6" in the name refers to the number of frames that could originally be exposed on a single roll of film. The name was not changed when this was increased to eight exposures.This size film became less popular and was finally discontinued in 1984.

Go to our Gallery Page to view 30 of these photographs.  If you recognize some of the buildings or have a story to tell about them, please send us that information via e-mail at bjhm@bham.rr.com. 

A current event
Showcasing History Center Artifacts

The Birmingham History Center and the City of Mountain Brook have partnered to showcase the Center's artifacts in the City Hall lobby case.  The History Center will change out the exhibits three times each ye​ar. 

istory Center artifact cases can also be found in the Alabama Theatre lobby and the lobby of the Tutwiler Hotel.

Follow Us
Designed By Jacinta Elliott   |   Powered By WideNet